Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

World Heritage Sites 30/06/2016

Spatial data of the boundaries of Australia's declared World Heritage properties as at 30/06/2016. There are currently twenty (20) Australian properties on the World Heritage List (as of August 2011). The Great Barrier Reef, the Tasmanian Wilderness, the Wet Tropics of Queensland and Shark Bay meet all four World Heritage criteria for natural heritage, with Kakadu National Park, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Willandra Lakes Region and the Tasmanian Wilderness being listed for both natural and cultural criteria. The Australian Fossil Mammal Sites (Naracoorte/Riversleigh), Lord Howe Island Group, Gondwana Rainforests of Australia, Fraser Island, Macquarie Island, Heard and McDonald Islands, the Greater Blue Mountains Area and Purnululu National Park are listed under the World Heritage criteria for natural heritage. The Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens, Melbourne were inscribed in the World Heritage List against Cultural criterion (ii): exhibit an important interchange of human values over a span of time or within a cultural area of the world, on developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town planning or landscape design. The Sydney Opera House was inscribed in the World Heritage List in 2007 against Cultural criterion (i) (see The Australian Convict Sites were inscribed on the World Heritage List on 31 July 2010. There are 11 sites that make up the World Heritage Australian Convict Sites against Cultural criterion (iv) and (vi). The Ningaloo Coast was inscribed on the World Heritage List in June 2011 against Natural criteria (vii) and (x). A single Australian World Heritage Areas database has been created by combining data which was historically stored as a separate set of data for each property. The coastline of Queensland was produced under specific contract for Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA) by the Australian Surveying and Land Information Group (AUSLIG) in 1984. Originally engineered by AUSLIG from datasets produced by the Division of National Mapping and RAN Hydrographic Service; Queensland coastal information produced by AUSLIG at 250k scale with 100k elements from developing technology at the time of genesis; Island information is specific to the Great Barrier Reef Region as produced from RAN Hydrographic Service data at 100k scale. Updated against satellite imagery during the RAP process (2003-2004) to 25k scale, especially in Cairns, Whitsundays and Hinchinbrook Regions. This coastline is used to represent the coastal boundary of the Great Barrier Reef WHA, and is supplied by GBRMPA Spatial Data Centre. For more information use the following link: Australian Government Data Portal:

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated July 28, 2020, 06:35 (UTC)
Created January 23, 2018, 22:51 (UTC)
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
AURIN Open API ID aurin:datasource-AU_Govt_DEE-UoM_AURIN_DB_world_heritage_sites_2016
Aggregation Level NA
Attribute List Address, Biogeographic Province, Cultural Criteria Met, File, Geometry field, Hectares, IUCN Management Category, Inscribed, Name, Natural Criteria Met., Object ID, Place ID, Shape Area, Shape length, Source, State, Status
Attribution Government of the Commonwealth of Australia - Department of the Environment and Energy, (2018): World Heritage Sites 30/06/2016; accessed from AURIN on [date of access].
Coordinate Ref. System EPSG:4283 (GDA_1994)
Copyright Notice © Government of the Commonwealth of Australia - Department of the Environment and Energy 2017
Geometry Field wkb_geometry
Key objectid
Type dataset
spatial {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[96.82, -43.74], [159.11, -43.74], [159.11, -9.14], [96.82, -9.14], [96.82, -43.74]]]}