Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

SA DEW - Prescribed Watercourses (Polygon)

Delineates the portion of the South Australian section of the River Murray gazetted as a prescribed water course. And includes several other watercourses which have been prescribed under the Water Resources Act.-In response to water management and usage issues, certain areas within the state have been prescribed in order to equitably share and manage the water resources and control future water extraction processes. The prescription may be placed on surface water areas (eg farm dams), groundwater (areas of bores and wells) or watercourses (streams and rivers) or a combination of types. This layer contains the line work delineating the watercourses which have been prescribed through legislation (Water Resources Act 1997). It is maintained as the master line work of the prescribed watercourses within the state. This layer will mainly be used for administration purposes for water licensing. This dataset only provides details of prescribed watercourses (streams and rivers) while the associated datasets, Prescribed Surface Water Areas and Prescribed Wells Areas, contains the line work for the prescribed surface water areas and ground water areas within the state. The Water Resources Act 1997 defines the principles for prescribing a watercourse and the resource management policies. Each prescribed watercourse requires a Water Allocation Plan to be prepared by the appropriate Natural Resources Management Board.

For more information please visit the LocationSA Metadata Portal. This dataset is made available through a formal agreement between AURIN and Location SA.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated June 29, 2022, 06:15 (UTC)
Created June 28, 2022, 05:39 (UTC)
ADP ID datasource-LocationSA-ADH:locsa_PrescribedWaterCourses
Access Level Open Access
Aggregation Level NA
Attribution Government of South Australia - Department for Environment and Water, (2020): SA DEW - Prescribed Watercourses (Polygon); accessed from AURIN on [date of access].
Coordinate Ref. System EPSG:4283 (GDA_1994)
Copyright Notice © Government of South Australia - Department for Environment and Water 2020
Geometry Field SHAPE
Type dataset
spatial {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[138.36, -36.75], [141.0, -36.75], [141.0, -33.89], [138.36, -33.89], [138.36, -36.75]]]}