Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

SA Suburb Boundaries August 2018

This datasets presents the South Australian suburb boundaries as of August 2018.

Suburbs and Localities (or Rural suburbs) are defined areas of the State established for addressing purposes. The base data used for the capture is the cadastre. The Suburbs layer is a data set that reflects the official boundaries of addressable localities in South Australia as defined by the Geographical Names Act, 1991. The polygons are based on the existing cadastral, topographic or road centerline data that defines the underlying features that boundaries follow.

The Suburb Boundaries in the urban and rural areas are updated when required through notification in the Government Gazette or spatial improvement of the cadastre. The capturing started 1990 and is ongoing. The Suburb boundary dataset is currently 100% complete for the state and complies with government classification standards.

For more information please visit the South Australian Government Data Portal:

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated July 28, 2020, 06:44 (UTC)
Created August 28, 2018, 06:04 (UTC)
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
AURIN Open API ID aurin:datasource-SA_Govt_DPTI-UoM_AURIN_DB_sa_suburb_boundaries_aug_2018
Aggregation Level NA
Attribute List Geometry, Legal Start Date, Postcode, Suburb Name, Suburb Number, Unique Feature Identifier
Attribution Government of South Australia - Department of Planning Transport and Infrastructure, (2017): SA Suburb Boundaries August 2018; accessed from AURIN on [date of access].
Coordinate Ref. System EPSG:4283 (GDA_1994)
Copyright Notice © Government of South Australia - Department of Planning Transport and Infrastructure 2018
Geometry Field wkb_geometry
Key ogc_fid
Type dataset
spatial {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[129.0, -38.07], [141.01, -38.07], [141.01, -25.99], [129.0, -25.99], [129.0, -38.07]]]}